International Office

Employment contracts

Scientific employees conclude an employment contract with the university. Civil servant professors and scientific civil servants, on the other hand, are appointed.

Besprechung Dokument
Besprechung Dokument

The salary for civil servants is determined by the Federal Salary Act (Bundesbesoldungsgesetz) and the relevant state regulations. The salary scale for professors is "W". The salary for scientific employees in North Rhine-Westphalia is based on the collective agreement for the public service of the Länder (TV-L). Salaries are paid by Landesamt für Besoldung und Versorgung NRW (LBV).

Landesamt für Besoldung und Versorgung NRW (LBV)

The Landesamt für Besoldung und Versorgung NRW (LBV) takes over the calculation and payment of the salaries for all employees and civil servants for the University of Bochum. You will therefore receive your payslip directly from the LBV.

You must sign your employment contract before you officially start work. Your institute and the personnel department will inform you in good time before the start of employment which forms and documents you need to submit for the execution of the contract. As an employee:in, you are generally subject to tax and social security contributions in Germany.

Service portal of RUB

In RUBs' service portal you will find a "Welcome package for new employees" with the most important information about starting work. It contains information about the workplace (working hours, vacation, business trips, illness, occupational safety, procurement, etc.), employer benefits, interest groups, technical support and a lot of additional information.

The service portal is only available to RUB employees within the campus Network.

Welcome Centre Fenster außen
Welcome Centre
Studierende lachend mit Laptops am Tisch
Arrival and residence
To top

International Office

Arbeiten mit Vertrag

Wissenschaftliche Beschäftigte schließen einen Arbeitsvertrag mit der Universität ab. Verbeamtete Professor:innen und wissenschaftliche Beamt:innen werden dagegen ernannt.

Besprechung Dokument
Besprechung Dokument

Das Gehalt für die Beamt:innen bestimmt sich nach dem Bundesbesoldungsgesetz und den einschlägigen Landesregelungen, das Gehalt für Professor:innen nach der dort geregelten W-Besoldung. Das Gehalt für wissenschaftliche Beschäftigte richtet sich in Nordrhein-Westfalen nach dem Tarifvertrag für den öffentlichen Dienst der Länder (TV-L). Die Auszahlung der Gehälter übernimmt das Landesamt für Besoldung (LBV)

Landesamt für Besoldung und Versorgung NRW (LBV)

Das Landesamt für Besoldung und Versorgung NRW (LBV) übernimmt für die Universität Bochum die Berechnung und Auszahlung der Bezüge für alle Angestellten und Beamt:innen. Sie erhalten Ihre Gehaltsabrechnung daher direkt vom LBV.

Ihren Arbeitsvertrag müssen Sie vor dem offiziellen Arbeitsbeginn unterschreiben. Ihr Institut und die Personalabteilung werden Ihnen rechtzeitig vor Einstellungsbeginn mitteilen, welche Formulare und Dokumente Sie für die Vertragsausfertigung vorlegen müssen. Als Arbeitnehmer:in sind Sie in der Regel in Deutschland steuer- und sozialversicherungspflichtig. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie auch in unserem Handbuch.

Serviceportal der RUB

Im Serviceportal der RUB finden Sie ein „Willkommenspaket für neue Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter“ mit den wichtigsten Informationen zum Arbeitsbeginn. Es enthält Informationen rund um den Arbeitsplatz (Arbeitszeit, Urlaub, Dienstreise, Krankheit, Arbeitssicherheit, Beschaffung etc.), zu den Leistungen des Arbeitgebers, Interessenvertretungen, technischem Support und viele Zusatzinformationen.

Das Serviceportal steht nur Beschäftigten der RUB innerhalb des Campusnetzwerkes zur Verfügung.

Welcome Centre Fenster außen
Welcome Centre
Studierende lachend mit Laptops am Tisch
Ankunft und Aufenthalt
Nach oben